#### 2013 breed discrimination year in review

### New state laws prohibiting breed-discriminatory legislation:

Connecticut, Nevada, Rhode Island

### Municipalities repealing existing breed-discriminatory legislation:

Amesbury, Massachusetts Boston, Massachusetts Canton, Massachusetts Everett, Massachusetts Haverhill, Massachusetts Lynn, Massachusetts Medway, Massachusetts Rockland, Massachusetts Whitman, Massachusetts Winthrop, Massachusetts Basehor, Kansas Osawatomie, Kansas Riverside, Missouri Annapolis, Missouri Waunakee, Wisconsin Darlington, Wisconsin Bessemer, Pennsylvania Wooster, Ohio Orrville, Ohio Welsh, Louisiana Newark, Ohio Bloomer, Wisconsin Dodge City, Kansas

## Municipalities rejecting attempted breed-discriminatory legislation:

Waterloo, Iowa Camanche, Iowa Ringstead, Iowa Baker City, Oregon Breckenridge, Colorado Greybull, Wyoming Watertown, Wisconsin Rockaway Beach, Missouri Westwego, Louisiana Columbus, Nebraska Great Bend, Kansas Flint, Michigan Lansing, Michigan Royal Oak, Michigan Broward County, Florida Bronwood, Georgia

# States rejecting attempted breed-discriminatory legislation:

North Carolina, Tennessee, Rhode Island, Oklahoma, Massachusetts

There were at least 39 municipalities that have decided to repeal or reject breed-discriminatory legislation. This number is actually much higher than what is listed here. The reason for this is that there are quite a few places that had a proposal or recommendation that was breed-discriminatory that has not been officially rejected, but rather "tabled indefinitely." Only places that officially rejected a proposal or recommendation were counted. It is also important to note that there have been hundreds of places (at the very least) that amended their dangerous dog laws in 2013. Only a very small minority ever even consider targeting certain breeds or types of dogs.

#### New municipalities passing breed-discriminatory legislation:

Riverside County, California (mandatory spay/neuter) Riverside City, California (mandatory spay/neuter) Dover, Arkansas (ban) Garland County, Arkansas (confinement) Murfreesboro, Arkansas (ban) Livingston County, Kentucky (restrictions) Clay, Alabama (ban, in litigation) Bluefield, West Virginia (ban) Hornbeak, Tennessee (restrictions) Schuyler, Nebraska (restrictions)

\*These 10 passages affect a total of 14 breeds, and their mixes, as well as Wolf hybrids: American Pit Bull Terriers, American Staffordshire Terriers, Staffordshire Terriers, Bull Terriers, Dobermans, Rottweilers, German Shepherds, Akitas, Chows, American Bulldogs, Dogo Argentino, Presa Canario, Cane Corso, American Bandogge.

www.stopbsl.org